September 13, 2009

Awake

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 5:56 am by thealligatorpurse

This morning, I was abruptly awakened at 4:00am by my husband poking me in the back.  He said, “what should we do?”  I had no idea what he was talking about, but apparently, our 3 year old was coughing.  This wouldn’t be so big of a problem except that both girls sleep in the same room.  If Cam gets coughing, her asthma won’t let her stop, and it goes on, and on, and on… He was afraid she would wake Aves with the coughing.  As he was explaining this to me, (at 4am, remember), Averie made a little crying noise.  So, he sighed and got out of bed to go rock her.  Cam’s coughing kept up, so I gave her some cough medicine powder.  It didn’t help.  So, I took her into the bathroom and ran a hot steamy shower.  It worked some.  She laid back in bed, but Averie was still awake.  So, I rocked her.  After a while, I laid her back in bed and got Cam a spoonful of honey.  It also helped, but not a lot.  I had to rock Aves more, she was too awake to fall back asleep.  So, as I was rocking, Cam asked for a drink.  Up we got to fetch that.  Then, Aves was ready to sleep, (she gets really crabby, stretchy when she’s ready to lay down).  So, I put her in her crib and laid down with Cam.  I showed her how to cover her face when she’s coughing, breathe the warm air and relax.  Still didn’t work.  So, we got up and went to the living room for an albuterol treatment.  She got to read a book while she was doing the treatment.  It helped relax her chest enough that the coughing subsided.  But, I didn’t want to risk it starting up again, thus beginning my long rocking process over, so I let her lay on the couch to sleep.  I promised I would stay right with her.  So, here I sit, drinking AWESOME starbucks coffee, (not from you, Anna, I needed caffeine this morning), and surfing the web.  I would sure love to take a shower, but that would entail leaving my little girl, breaking my promise.  I can think of many worse ways to start my morning than with my two, favorite sweeties.

016

018

With all the attacks Satan’s been sending our way lately, I can’t help but think that he’s trying again.  This is the second Sunday morning that I’ve been awake in the middle of the night.  But, guess what, Devil?  Troy hates losing sleep, but he’s sound asleep right now.  And…I’m a morning person!  Ha HA!!!

Leave a Reply

