September 11, 2009

Ewww…

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 8:46 pm by thealligatorpurse

I found some extra bugs in my vermicomposting bin the other day.  Grey, big, maggotty looking things.  They made me gag.  I picked out as many as I could find, (no, not by hand – ick!), and dumped them out.  But, I’m sure there were at least as many as I found left in the bins.  I’ve been researching since then, trying to igure out what they are.  Finally, tonight, I discovered that they’re Soldier Fly Larvae.  They’re harmless, and grow into harmless housefly type flies, but still, they’re nasty.  I’ll take a picture soon and add it, when my stomach is strong enough…

I’m reading that they’re beneficial to my worm bin, but I don’t think I can keep them there.  Blech!

Leave a Reply

