September 3, 2009

Corn, Corn, Corn Everywhere!

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 8:32 am by thealligatorpurse

My brother-in-law was an actor in a past life, and his theme song was about corn.  He needs to post them online so we can share the episodes with the world, (hint hint!).

Anyway…There is a farm in Joliet that grows the best corn ever.  Glascock Farms.  When we were there last week, I picked up 6 dozen, which from them is really 6 1/2 dozen.  I brought it back and blanched and froze it.  I thought it would be a couple of hour job.  Nope, I started it about 4pm in the evening and finished it around 4pm the next day.  I figure I got about 1 cup of corn from each ear, that gives me about 78 cups of corn.  Wow!  It sure will be yummy this winter, though, in creamed corn, potato corn chowder, corn casserole, vegetable soup…

001

003

Just a small portion of the frozen corn.

Just a small portion of the frozen corn.

Leave a Reply

