April 10, 2009

Caramel Brownies

Posted in Great Recipes at 8:28 pm by thealligatorpurse

Here is a recipe for some great brownies that a college friend’s wife gave me years ago.  She never told me their name, so I’ll call them…

Christine’s Yummy Brownies

Ingredients:

1 Box German Chocolate Cake Mix

1/2 Box Devils Food Cake Mix

1 1/2 Stick Margarine

2/3 C. Evaporated Milk

8 oz. Caramels

1/2 Bag of Chocolate Chips

  • Combine cake mixes, margarine and 1/3 cup of the evaporated milk
  • Pat 1/2 of the mixture into a buttered 9×13 pan
  • Bake for 5 minutes
  • Melt the caramels and 1/3 cup of evaporated milk in a saucepan
  • Pour over the baked brownie
  • Spread the chocolate chips over the caramel
  • Cover with the rest of the brownie mixture.  I have to make little patties and space them out over it.
  • Bake 15 minutes.

I think they’re the best after they’re completely cooled.  You have to let them cool quite a while before cutting them, or you have a mushy mess.  I think they may be the best brownies ever!!!  Here are some pictures of us making them…

016

Camdyn unwrapped at least half of the caramels and put them into the pan.

017

Here are the caramels and milk melting, with the bottom brownie sitting off to the side.

019

The finished product.  Yum!

2 Comments »

  1. Aunti Anna said,

    I need you to mail some of those to me. K? Thanks.
    P.S. I noticed your Ocean City spoon rest. I’m observant like that.

  2. Brooke said,

    I think I’m going to have to make those……. soon! They look/sound delicious!


Leave a Reply

