January 28, 2009

The Tutu

Posted in Uncategorized at 3:31 am by thealligatorpurse

I’ve always thought tutu’s were so cute and fun, and expensive.  Actually, I’ve never researched it, I just assumed it.  So, I decided Camylou needed one.  I figured I should make it, since they were so expensive, (although I’ve never once looked up how much one costs.)  I made a trip to Wally world and picked out a shimmery pink and a pale pink tulle.  I got 3 yards of each, thinking I would gather it and stitch the gathers like a veil.  Once I got it home, I pinned it up and pulled out my sewing machine, then decided a quick research of proper technique wouldn’t hurt. 

 018

Glad I did.  Turns out, you’re supposed to cut the tulle into strips and tie them onto a ribbon.  So, that’s what I did.  It was really easy, took less than an hour, and made a little girl very happy.

 

033

 

Teddy had to wear it, too.

 

039

 

Little sister tried it on, too.

025

 

It was so easy and fun, I think I’ll make another one soon.  Maybe black and purple?

4 Comments »

  1. Julia said,

    I am impressed with your talent. I don’t think I could make one of these for Connor.

  2. Michelle Svoboda said,

    Do tell what the tutu “recipe” is. We’d love one here!!!

  3. tlc32 said,

    Sure. Take whatever tulle you want, cut it into 3″ strips. (Roll it up and cut with one big snip, make sense?) Cut those in half along the fold it came with from being on the bolt. cut a ribbon as wide as the waist of whoever will wear it, tying knots at each end where they meet. Add extra at the ends to tie together. Take a peice of tulle, fold it in half, loop under the ribbon, then pass the ends through the loops. I do 4 of each color at a time. Continue around until it’s as fluffy as you would like. Here’s a tutorial…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B7aSPMEn7S0
    I used a total of 6 yards and think it may be a bit too fluffy.

  4. anna said,

    I’d like to see a picture of Maggie wearing the tutu.


Leave a Reply

